Blessings – big, small and snoring

20 Jun

Its been just a little over a week since devastation and chaos hit my life, you see  – everything materialistic that is close to my heart got swiped out of my life in one very very foul swoop. My car was broken into and my laptop, handbag, camera and a few other precious belongings were cruelly taken. Officially been in mourning. No – genuinely and seriously sad. It’s like a violation and frustration beyond measure.

 But – my big girl brookes once again come out and, I am now officially letting it go. So – breathe….  and there.

Now – for picking up the pieces.

The first thing was to get a new laptop (that is, besides the frustration of all my official documents – ID, drivers, bank cards etc…) –  my ever amazing and brainiac nerd of a husband did his usual research (to the tune of my moping) and found me a beaute. A cuter, lighter, whizzier model – with keys that light up to boot. Its taken me a few dates to get to know the guy…but I think me and my Dell are ready to move to second base. One or two minor glitches, but generally a big  improvement. Sigh.

Next on the agenda – my deeply beloved camera… just when I had fallen so crazy for it. Once again, a fabulous, easy to use (with awesome results) Canon, carefully picked just for me by that ever amazing brainiac man of mine. This poses a huge problem for my hording side. (The camera was starting to help with my deep need of collecting stuff, it allows me to collect the photos of the stuff instead) I’ve found myself in at least 5 great photo opportunities since the tragedy. Deeper sigh and gritted teeth.

The other precious belongings (my stunning grey handbag, jacket, watch and other items to many to mention) cannot be replaced – well not easily anyway. Lucky for me, I’m versatile, and so open to some suggestions (and gifts of course).

Somehow, I’ve made it through the week, with the odd reminiscence of the moment of the loss.(its been 10 days, 5 hours and a few minutes since) and so – actually, maybe the loss wasnt so bad after all. I mean – there are a few things I can think of that I actually couldnt breathe without…3 to be exact, and they are all peacefully sleeping right now in my care. 🙂 so whats a little bump in the road?

The Burning house is a website I’ve stumbled across through my daily blog reading…the concept is: If your house was burning, what would you take with you? It’s a conflict between what’s practical, valuable and sentimental. What you would take reflects your interests, background and priorities. Think of it as an interview condensed into one question.

I just love looking at it and seeing what people would grab. Makes my sit in wonderment at how each human has their own things that make them tick.

As soon as I get a new camera, I’m gonna take a pic of mine and Stefan’s collections  – to see how two people who live in the same home with the same things would choose different items.

Below are some examples from the site

 

And so…. stock take time. Stop the fussing, and the pouting… and count those blessings, 1 by 1 –  no matter how small (or snoring).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

